What is the full list of winners of 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards?

Do you know the results of the MTV Africa Music? Who were honored to get the most prestigious awards on the festival? Let’s check out the full list together.

Africa Music Awards

MTV Africa Music Award is a thrilling time for a lot of musicians from all over Africa. They were nominated and came looking just stunning all ready to get their prizes for different achievements.

Five people were awarded the Artist of the Year award. Among the nominees were two Nigerians including Wizkid and Yemi Alade, one Tanzanian (Diamond), one Kenyan (Sauti Sol), and one South African (Black Coffee). The winner was Nigerian Wizkid. You should have seen the happy face of his when the results were announced!

The Best Female prize was long-awaited. Five female musicians were nominated for the Best Female award. Among them were Josey (Ivory Coast), Mz Vee (Ghana), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania), and Yemi Alade (Nigeria). The latter was announced to be the winner.

Africa Music Awards 2016

Nine nominees were fighting for the Best Breakthrough award. They were Emtee (South Africa), Raymond (Tanzania), Babes Wodumo (South Africa), Franko (Cameroon), Nathi (South Africa), Falz (Nigeria), Simi (Nigeria), Tekno (Nigeria) and Nasty C (South Africa). After careful consideration, the jury chose Tekno from Nigeria to be the winner for the nominee.

The Best International Act award was received by Drake. However, among other competitors were Beyonce, Adele, Future, and Rihanna.

Here is a list of nominees for the Song of the year in partnership with Google:

  • “Wololo” – Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)
  • “Reggae Blues” – Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)
  • “Unconditionally bae” – Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)
  • “My Woman, My Everything” – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
  • “Ngud” – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)
  • “Roll Up Re-Up” – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)
  • “Godwin” – Korede Bello (Nigeria)
  • “Baddest” – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga  (South Africa/Nigeria)
  • “Shaktibobo” – Olamide (Nigeria)
  • “Soweto Baby” – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)
  • “Coller la Petite“ – Franko (Cameroon)

The winner of this prize is “My Woman, My Everything” – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria).

all Africa Music Awards

The prize for the Video of the Year was won by “Niquer Ma Vie“ – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon. Among other contestants for this prize:

  1. “If I Start to Talk” – Tiwa Savage feat. Dr. Sid (South Africa); Director: Clarence Peters
  2. “Jump” – Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis
  3. “Kisasi Kumi” – Sheeba (Uganda) – Director: Sasha Vybz
  4. “Caviar Dreams” – AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi
  5. “Niquer Ma Vie“ – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon

READ ALSO: What rappers has the most Grammys?
One more nomination for the MTV Africa Music Awards 2016 you will be willing to learn more about is the Listener’s Choice. A lot of nominees took part in the fight for this prize. However, only one got to win it. The nominees were:

  • Adiouza (Senegal)
  • Meddy (Rwanda)
  • Bebe Cool (Uganda)
  • Saad Lamjarred (Morocco)
  • Kansoul (Kenya)
  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Den G (Liberia)
  • Jay Rox (Zambia)
  • EL (Ghana)
  • Sabri Mosbah (Tunisia)
  • Sidiki Diabate (Mali)
  • Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
  • The Dogg (Namibia)
  • Kiss Daniel (Nigeria)
  • Lij Michael (Ethiopia)
  • LXG (Sierra Leone)
  • Messias Marioca (Mozambique)
  • Prince Kaybee (South Africa)
  • Reda Taliani (Algeria)
  • Tamer Hosny (Egypt)
  • Yamoto Band (Tanzania)

The winner of this nomination is Jah Prayzah from Zimbabwe.

Another famous Africa Music Award is the Personality of the Year nomination was presented by five artists. Among them were Pearl Thusi, Linda Ikeji, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Wizkid, and Caster Semenya. The winner of this award is the last one on the list!

MTV Africa Awards 2016

Finally, the last nomination we will tell you about is called Best Collaboration. There were five nominees for this prize. Among them were:

  1. AkA ft. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – Baddest
  2. Patoranking ft. Sarkodie – No Kissing
  3. Dj Maphorsia ft. Wizkid & Dj Buckz – Soweto Baby
  4. Sauti Sol ft. Alikiba – Unconditionally Bae
  5. Nasty c ft. Davido  & Cassper Nyovest – Juice Back Remix

The contestant number three got the prize and went home with the title of the Best Collaboration. Way to go Dj Maphorsia, Wizkid, and Dj Buckz.

Your comment
Add image

By posting your comment, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.