What is the list of west african countries, their capitals and presidents?

Do you know geography? How many countries are there in West Africa? 15? 18? 20? 23? What is the list of West African countries, their capitals, and presidents? Continue reading this article to know the exact answer.

 The list of west african countries

West Africa is as well named the West of Africa and Western Africa and. It is the sub-region of Africa. There are 18 countries in it. The West of Africa is located in an area of 6,140,000 square kilometers. It is almost 1/5 of Africa territory. In contrast to most of Southeast, Southern, and Central Africa, Bantu-speaking peoples do not inhabit West Africa.

There is a wide variety of cultures in West Africa. From Senegal to Nigeria, there are overall resemblances in traditional cuisine, dress, culture, and music. People in Wester African countries are very friendly and talkative.

West African countries

West African countries, their capitals, and presidents


Capital: Porto-Novo

  • Capital: Porto-Novo
  • The President: Patrice Talon (2016 – present)

Burkina Faso

Capital: Ouagadougou

  • Capital: Ouagadougou
  • The President: Roch Marc Christian Kabore (2015 – present)

The island of Cape Verde

Capital: Praia

  • Capital: Praia
  • The President: Jorge Carlos Fonseca (2011 – present)


Capital: Banjul

  • Capital: Banjul
  • The President: Yahya Jammeh (1996 – present)


Capital: Accra

  • Capital: Accra
  • The President: John Dramani Mahama (2012 – present)


Capital: Conakry

  • Capital: Conakry
  • The President: Alpha Conde (2010 – present)


Capital: Bissau

  • Capital: Bissau
  • The President: Jose Mario Vaz (2014 – present)

Ivory Coast


  • Capital: Abidjan (economic), Yamoussoukro (political)
  • The President: Alassane Ouattara (2010 – present)

READ ALSO: The largest village in West Africa


Capital: Monrovia

  • Capital: Monrovia
  • The President: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (2006 – present)


Capital: Bamako

  • Capital: Bamako
  • The President: Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta (2013 – present)


Capital: Nouakchott

  • Capital: Nouakchott
  • The President: Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz (2009 – present)


Capital: Niamey

  • Capital: Niamey
  • The President: Mahamadou Issoufou (2011 – present)


Capital: Abuja

  • Capital: Abuja
  • The President: Muhammadu Buhari (2015 – present)

The island of Saint Helena

Capital: Jamestown

  • Capital: Jamestown
  • Monarch: Elizabeth II
  • Governor: Lisa Phillips


Capital: Dakar

  • Capital: Dakar
  • The President: Macky Sall (2012 – present)

Sierra Leone

Capital: Freetown

  • Capital: Freetown
  • The President: Ernest Bai Koroma (2007 – present)

Sao Tome and Principe

Capital: Sao Tome

  • Capital: Sao Tome
  • The President: Evaristo Carvalho (2016 – present)


Capital: Lome

  • Capital: Lome
  • The President: Faure Gnassingbe (2005 – present)

Your comment
Add image

By posting your comment, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.