Who among African presidents resigned peacefully?

Who among presidents left power peacefully in Africa? How did it happen? Check our list now!


1.    Abdoulaye  Wade, Senegal


Wade won presidential elections in Senegal in 2000 year. He ran for president seven times between 1978 and 2012. In addition, Abdoulaye was the leader of the opposition in Senegal for 25 years.

2.    Goodluck Jonathan, Nigeria

Goodluck Jonathan

Goodluck Jonathan is the first president in Nigeria who conceded his defeat in a competitive election. He was Nigerian President from 2010 to 2015.Jonathan is the first president who transited his power peacefully.

3.    Rupiah Banda, Zambia

rupiah banda

Rupiah lost a re-election bid to opposition leader Michael Sata in 2011 and stepped down peacefully. He was the president between  2008 and 2011

4.    Nicephore Soglo, Benin

Nicephore Soglo

Soglo started as a prime minister of Benin, where he was in charge from 1990 t0 1991. He became a president in 1991 when he wan presidential elections. He ruled the country until 1996. He tried himself also in the next presidential elections in 1996. However, Soglo took first place in the first round but was defeated in the second round by Mathieu Kerekou. 

5.    Joyce Banda, Malawi

 Joyce Banda

Joyce was the first female president in Malawi and the fourth president in a country in general. Banda started to rule the country in 2012 after the sudden death of President Bingu wa Mutharika. She was defeated in a presidential election in May 2014.

READ ALSO: What shoes does President Muhammadu Buhari wear?

6.    Mathieu Kerekou, Benin

 Mathieu Kerekou

Mathieu Kerekou was the president of Benin for 29 years. Everything started when he seized power in a military coup in 1972.  Finally, in 1991 he lost an election to his former Prime Minister Nicephore Soglo.

7.    Pierre Buyoya, Burundi

Pierre Buyoya

Pierre Buyoya also came to power after the military coup. He was the president of Burundi twice. The first time was between 1987 and 1993. Than he lost elections to Melchior Ndadaye. After that, he came back to power after a second military coup in 2006.

8.    Abdou Diouf, Senegal

Abdou Diouf

Abdou Diouf was the second president of Senegal between 1981 and 2000. Diouf came to power by peaceful succession and left his post also peacefully when he lose the presidential election to Abdoulaye Wade in 2000. After that, he was Secretary-General from 2013 to 2014.

9.    Andre Kolingba, Central African Republic

Andre Kolingba

Andre Kolingba came to the power after the military coup, which was peaceful. It happened in 1981 when President David Dacko lost his post. Overall, Andre Kolingba was the fourth president of the Central African Republic. In 1993 he was defeated by Ange-Felix Patasse in a democratic election.

Watch the video learn about the richest African Presidents!

Your comment
Add image

By posting your comment, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.