Who won the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2016 – Neymar, Messi or Ronaldo?

Who do you like the most - Messi, Ronaldo or Neymar? Find out which one of them got the Ballon d'Or 2015?

On Monday January 11th FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 was awarded to one of the top world’s footballers. The competition was tough and the main contestants were Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar. Now we know the winner!

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015:

Who won FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 award?

Over the past few years the award was gotten by Cristiano Ronaldo (three times and two of them were in 2013 and 2014). However this year the tides have once more changed and the Golden Ball award was once more received by Lionel Messi. It’s not the first time he gets it! In 2015 he has become the best football player of the year for the fifth time.

 Neymar, Messi or Ronaldo.Formerly he has gotten the FIFA Ballon d’Or four more times (2009-2012). Since 2008 the award was shared between the two above mentioned footballers: Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Unfortunately Neymar is not on this list of honor… again.

This far Lionel Messi has become the only footballer in the world, who’s gotten the award for five times in the career and that may not be the end. He may get it again, as Messi goals are amazing and this season he scored 48 times!

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015: Neymar, Messi or Ronaldo?The first three spots in the table of honor are taken by Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar and they are followed by Robert Lewandowski and Luis Suarez. Well done, Messi, we hail you once again!

READ ALSO: Has Aubameyang become the African player of the year 2015?

FIFA Ballon d’Or brief history:

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015: who got ?Ballon d'Or translates from French as the Golden Ball. This football award was founded in France back in 1956 and was considered to be the award given to the best European footballer. The man who got this idea was the French writer Gabriel Hanot, he wrote for the magazines and figured out that would be a great idea to reward the best players based no their performance.

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Messi Ballon d'Or existed in this form for almost 50 years until 2009. How did they decide which one of the footballers was the best? They had European journalists voting for their favorite players and picked the one who got most votes.

Until 1995 only main European club players could contest for the award, but later on the rules got changed and all the players of all the European clubs could participate. This far only one African player has gotten the award:  George Weah. At that time he played for Milan. Stanley Matthews was the first player ever who received this tryphy. In 1999 they decided to award the super prize and pick the player of the Century.

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015: who got it this time All the receivers of Balon d’Or got to vote and they picked Pele, who gained 122 votes from his fellow players. FIFA Ballon d’Or award (as we know it now) was created in 2010. Back then they have combined two of them together: Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year.

Now you know the history of the trophy and the name of the latest winner 2015 – Lionel Messi, who got in in January 2016. 

READ ALSO: All The LIVE Buildup To The FIFA Ballon d'Or 2015.

Your comment
Add image

By posting your comment, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.